Great success of the CloudFlight Coding Contest 2021


What does a large group of students and alumni of the School of Computer Engineering do on a Friday afternoon in the General Laboratory of the School??

Last Friday 5 November from 14:45 up to the 20:00 we were close to 40 people celebrating the CloudFlight Coding Contest 2021, that returned to have face-to-face headquarters in our School, being the only venue in Spain of this contest.

Undergraduate students, of master's degree and former students went there to compete or help in the organization, or as representatives of the companies sponsoring the contest.

Luis Alberto Centeno and Rafael Sillero, Alumni, competed in this contest several years ago and this was their gateway to work on what at that time was Catalyst that later merged with Crisp becoming the current CloudFlight.

Luis Alberto Centeno served as master of ceremonies of the contest connected from Austria while Rafa Sillero was able to accompany us in person. Also Miguel Sánchez Rueda who was an organizer and participant of the contest in previous years went there to help with the organization.

This year the organization was in the hands of Edgar Díez Alonso, 4th year student of Software Engineering and Silvia Arias Herguedas, former student and now associate professor, accompanied by the school management. Great work by Edgar and Silvia!

David Fuertes, former student, and now founder and CEO of GRASP, one of CloudFlight's partner companies and contest partners, he accompanied us to cheer on the contestants and talk to the students about their experience and the promising future they all have.. GRASP has offices in Lille, France, and in the USA and is creating an office in Valladolid, working in the “New Space”, launching satellites, operand, downloading and processing data and creating applications in sectors such as air quality and precision agriculture.

The contest was very close and we must highlight the meritorious 3rd port of Rubén Carrasco … who competed solo beating many two- and three-member teams.

Below we publish the list of winners and a photo gallery.

Congratulations to everyone for the great participation and much more to the winners of the awards!

In the new modality of the contest: Artificial Intelligence the winners were:

1º Adrián Arroyo Street

2º Alejandro Barón García and Miguel Toquero Barón

In the classic modality of the contest the winners were:

1º Team Emilian: formed by Gonzalo Calvo Sanz, Rodrigo Martín Posada and Pablo Criado Albillos

2º Team La Ganga formed by: Pablo Marcos Parra, Daniel López Martínez and Manuel de Castro Caballero

3º Rubén Carrasco Fernández

Thank you very much to all the participants for putting the animation on a Friday evening!